Tags

, ,

I just saw this on a totally hipster local website:

“this willie” said it best:

“You say that you love rain, but you open your umbrella when it rains. You say that you love the sun, but you find a shadow spot when the sun shines. You say that you love the wind, but you close your windows when wind blows. This is why I am afraid, you say that you love me too.”
– William Shakespeare
Now, allow me to vent. This isn’t Shakespeare. For one, if you’ve ever read Shakespeare, this sounds nothing like him. Also, the OED only dates the word umbrella from 1611, not in general use until the mid-to-late 1600s, and Shakespeare’s last play (The Tempest) was presumably written between 1610-11. It’s a pretty modern word–can’t people hear that? And don’t people think to check attributions on the internet? Maybe I am just a snob, but that quote SOUNDS NOTHING LIKE SHAKESPEARE. Do people not use their brains?
I might be doubly annoyed because the bloggers in question here are hipsters (in the most ridiculous and derogatory sense). Few sins are more egregious and unforgivable in my book than taking oneself too seriously.
After all… “The thing about quotes on the internet is that you cannot confirm their validity.” –Abraham Lincoln