Tags

, ,

Today’s must reads around the web: Quod She’s posting, which led me to another of William Pannapacker’s painful skewerings of all us wayward graduate students (on Slate, no less–the mutterings are getting louder). Then she contrasts that with a well-written and thoughtful piece by Jsench titled “Working Classes“.

What do I have to add? Nothing of use, really, except that Pannapacker is relentlessly shortsighted (and one might say cruel) when it comes to people who want to be a part of the profession he is exploiting in order to tell people not to be a part of his profession. And I took very deeply to heart Jsench’s counterargument that no route of study or field of specialization guarantees you a job these days, and that academia is not alone in that respect.

Every day, I wonder what the hell I am doing, and simultaneously admit that this is the only place I really want to be.

In the words of my favorite poem, one I love so much I have tattooed the sentiment on my wrists,

 Odi et amo. Quare id faciam fortasse requiris.
      Nescio, sed fieri sentio, et excrucior.

Or, roughly,

I hate and I love. Why would I do this, you ask?
I do not know. But I feel that it happens, and it tortures me.

