Tags

‘Tis the eve of my classes beginning–tomorrow I sit for 6 consecutive hours in the same room, first for a class in postmodernism and then for a Chaucer seminar. Two great tastes that taste great together! Or at least crank up the absurdity levels that rule my life. Whichever.

I always feel so strangely giddy before my first classes–both terrified and excited at all the possibilities.  And dreading that awkward ‘let’s all introduce ourselves’ moment as we go around the table. I always screw it up, like Janene Garofalo talking about how she screws up her Starbucks order**. In my first MA class I had to go first, and I had no idea what to say–no template for such, if you will–so I said something along the lines of, “Hi, I’m Painsthee, this is my first class, and I’m here because… uh… I like the readin’.”

Everyone looked at me as if I had three heads.

Of course, I earned that look.

. . . . . . .

* Love me some Dresden Dolls.

** Way to date yourself, painsthee. **mutter**

