Tags

,

I just have to keep reminding myself that it is in fact okay that I am struggling with Middle English. It feels like it should be more effortless than it is, yet I keep running up against words that look more like secret code than discernible language. And I am afraid it’s just me–that *I* am the one who doesn’t get it, I’m not cut out for this, blah blah, insert litany of self-degradation here.

The up side is that I discussed this fear with some of my classmates before class started last night, and as it turns out, I am very much the opposite of alone in my newfound lack of self-confidence at grappling with the material. Apparently we are all freaking out.

And I figure at least if we are all actually idiots, at least misery has some nice company.

And at least I did earn bonus points from Dr. Medievalist for referring to the four soldiers in the York Play of the Crucifixion as Larry, Moe, Curly, and Shemp.

